Gemini 3.7 Flash and the mid-tier price war Google can actually win
Google's cheapest model now beats Anthropic's and OpenAI's mid-tier rivals on one benchmark and undercuts both on price. Its actual flagship still doesn't exist.
The answer
Google released Gemini 3.7 Flash on 13 August 2026 at $0.75/$3.75 per million tokens, undercutting mid-tier rivals.
Gemini 3.7 Flash arrived on 13 August 2026, one day after xAI's Grok 4.6 and three weeks after Google's own Gemini 3.6 Flash. Google called it 'our most intelligent workhorse model yet for coding and agents' — modest language for a company that, six months earlier, had promised a genuine flagship. That flagship, Gemini 3.5 Pro, still has not shipped. What Google actually has to sell right now is a very good, very cheap mid-tier model, and the interesting question is whether that is the plan or the fallback.
A three-week refresh, not a rebuild
Google was explicit about the cadence: this release 'comes just three weeks after Gemini 3.6 Flash, and is a direct result of developer feedback and algorithmic innovations,' rather than a new base model. On Google's own numbers, the gains are real and concentrated exactly where a workhorse coding model needs them: FrontierCode 1.1 Main rose from 34.4% to 43.6%, DeepSWE v1.1 from 49.0% to 65.3%, document reasoning on GDP.pdf from 22.0% to 34.0%, and AutomationBench — a proxy for completing real business workflows — from 17.0% to 30.4%.
our most intelligent workhorse model yet for coding and agents
The number that matters: cost per point of capability
Pricing is where the release earns its headline. Gemini 3.7 Flash is available through 31 December 2026 at an introductory $0.75 per million input tokens and $3.75 per million output — half of Gemini 3.6 Flash's standard rate — before both return to $1.50/$7.50 on 1 January 2027. Against that, Anthropic's Claude Sonnet 5 is priced at $2 and $10 per million tokens, and OpenAI's GPT-5.6 Terra at $2 and $12, according to Google's own published comparison.
| Model | Input / output per million tokens | FrontierCode 1.1 Main | AA Intelligence Index |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini 3.7 Flash | $0.75 / $3.75 (intro; $1.50/$7.50 from Jan 2027) | 43.6% | 56 |
| Claude Sonnet 5 | $2 / $10 | 42.7% | not disclosed |
| GPT-5.6 Terra | $2 / $12 | 41.3% | not disclosed |
| Grok 4.6 (xAI) | $2 / $6 | not disclosed | 61 |
Read the row order carefully. Gemini 3.7 Flash is the cheapest model in that table by a wide margin, and it still edges Sonnet 5 and Terra on the one benchmark Google chose to publish. That is a genuinely strong commercial position — for a workhorse model. It says nothing about how Gemini 3.7 Flash would fare against Sonnet 5 and Terra's own frontier stablemates, Claude Opus 5 and GPT-5.6 Sol, because Google did not run that comparison, and its own Intelligence Index score of 56 — against Grok 4.6's 61 a day earlier — suggests it would not flatter the model.
The flagship that still isn't there
The context that makes the pricing story pointed rather than merely competitive is Gemini 3.5 Pro. Google announced it at I/O on 19 May 2026 and implied it would follow within weeks; by mid-July it had missed three internal targets, with one report attributing a missed 17 July date to hallucinations and describing Google's Flash releases — Gemini 3.6 Flash and 3.5 Flash-Lite among them — as models designed to buy time for further Pro development. Gemini 3.7 Flash, a month later, is the same pattern continuing: real, shipped, cost-efficient progress on the tier Google can reliably ship, while the tier meant to compete with Claude Opus 5 and GPT-5.6 Sol remains a promise.
Hallucinations blocked the July 17 target; stopgap Flash models now in Google's queue.
Leadership moved with the model
One week before the 3.7 Flash launch, the organisational picture shifted too. On 5 August 2026, Google DeepMind's CEO, Demis Hassabis, stepped back to chairman of Google DeepMind and chief scientist of Alphabet, handing day-to-day control of Gemini development to CTO Koray Kavukcuoglu; Jeff Dean, a 27-year Google veteran, left the same day to found an independent research venture, Discovery Loop. Coverage tied the reshuffle directly to Gemini's release delays.
has faced repeated delays, and fallen behind models from OpenAI and Anthropic at the frontier
What to watch
Two things settle the question this piece opened with. First, whether Kavukcuoglu's team ships Gemini 3.5 Pro — or skips straight to Gemini 4, which Google began pre-training on 21 July 2026 — inside the next quarter; a fourth missed deadline would confirm the Flash cadence is compensation, not choice. Second, whether the price gap holds once Anthropic and OpenAI respond in kind; mid-tier pricing wars move fast, and $0.75/$3.75 will not stay Google's alone for long. Until either resolves, the honest read is that Google has built a genuinely competitive mid-tier business on a three-week release cycle, and has not yet shown it can build the tier above it.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Gemini 3.7 Flash cost?
Is Gemini 3.7 Flash better than Claude or GPT-5.6?
Why has Gemini 3.5 Pro not launched?
What changed at Google DeepMind in August 2026?
How does Gemini 3.7 Flash compare with xAI's Grok 4.6?
Sources
- Gemini 3.7 Flash: our most intelligent workhorse model — Google, 13 August 2026
- Google's Gemini 3.7 Flash targets coding and agents with a 50% introductory price cut — VentureBeat, 13 August 2026
- Introducing Gemini 3.6 Flash, 3.5 Flash-Lite, and 3.5 Flash Cyber — Google, 21 July 2026
- Rebuilt Gemini 3.5 Pro Misses Third Deadline: Google Eyes Stopgap Release — Tech Times, 16 July 2026
- Google DeepMind Reshuffles After CEO Demis Hassabis Steps Aside — TIME, 6 August 2026
- College students get 12 months of Google AI free — Google, 19 August 2026
- Google AI updates: August 2026 — Google, 1 September 2026
- Introducing Grok 4.6 — xAI, 12 August 2026